Camp depth map released

LATROBE, Pa. – Coach Mike Tomlin is nothing but a supporter of NFL rules, and when the league requires him to submit a depth chart, he submits a depth chart. And based on its history, consumers of this information and/or those whose names appear anywhere on it are advised to consider it as something between meaningless and what Moses brought down from the mountain on tablets of stone.

And so, without further ado, the Steelers’ depth chart for 2022, which should surprise absolutely no one who’s been paying attention this offseason, nor anyone who’s learned how Tomlin works this time of year.

Of course, the line that is of paramount importance to those taking the time to read this is the one listing the quarterbacks. As since the first OTA’s first snap in May, the quarterbacks are lined up as follows: Mitch Trubisky, Mason Rudolph, Kenny Pickett, and Chris Oladokun.


The same applies to the remaining positions on the offensive. Starting offensive are listed from left to right: Dan Moore Jr., Kevin Dotson or Kendrick Green, Mason Cole, James Daniels and Chuks Okorafor. The first wide receivers are Chase Claypool and Diontae Johnson; at the narrow end it is Pat Freiermuth; The running back is Najee Harris and the full-back is Derek Watt.

As we saw in the quarterback listing, the backups at each position are usually arranged based on years of service in either the NFL or the Steelers, or sometimes based on draft status.

As an example, Benny Snell (entering his fourth season) is listed at #2 behind Harris, while Anthony McFarland Jr. (entering his third season) is listed at #3. Therefore, as an example, the backups listed behind Johnson at wide receiver are Anthony Miller (a fifth-year player), then Gunner Olszewski (a fourth-year player), then Calvin Austin III (a rookie but a draft pick), and then Tyler Snead ( a rookie but not a draft pick).

A small exception might be found in the backup receivers behind Claypool, as Cody White (sophomore player) is listed as #2 while Miller (fifth year player) is listed at #3, but since Miller was already listed as primary backup for Johnson, it makes sense that someone else would be listed as the primary backup for Claypool.

On defense, the starting lines are Cam Heyward on defensive tackle, Tyson Alualu on nose tackle, and Larry Ogunjobi on defensive end. For the linebacker, the starters are Devin Bush or Robert Spillane on the left linebacker and Myles Jack on the right linebacker; TJ Watt and Alex Highsmith are the starters at Outside Linebacker. Cam Sutton is the starting right cornerback, with Levi Wallace or Ahkello Witherspoon at left cornerback; the security guards are Terrell Edmunds and Minkah Fitzpatrick; and the nickel is Arthur Maulet.

If you look for anomalies in the way the backups are arranged on defense, Tre Norwood (Sophomore) is listed at #2 in free security, while Miles Killebrew (Seventh-year player) is there at #3 is listed. and James Pierre (third-year player) is ahead of Justin Layne (fourth-year player) as a replacement for Sutton at right cornerback.

Chris Boswell, Pressley Harvin and Christian Kuntz are respectively No. 1 place kickers, punters and long snappers; and Olszewski is the primary kickoff and punt returner, with Austin as the primary backup at both spots.

As Tomlin once said, “People want to do depth maps this time of year, so be it. You change.”

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: